MWW Review

I sat down to write this review and realized I’m incapable of expressing how incredible Midwest Writer’s Workshop was without sounding like a squealing pre-teen who just shook hands with Justin Bieber.  In all seriousness, though, this conference makes the top five best experiences of my life.  Here are just a few reasons why.

For starters, the conference had something for everyone.  Whether you were looking to improve your writing, get feedback on your work, pitch to agents, or just network with other writers, there was a place for you at MWW.  Personally, I was most interested in the craft workshops and meeting local writers.  A recent transplant to central Indiana, I knew there had to be other writers in the area, but I didn’t know how to find them.  What I encountered at MWW was a much larger community than I’d anticipated who live within an hour of my home.  More than meeting a community, though, I met people who I hope will become good friends as well as critique partners.

Outside of networking, the craft sessions taught me not only about style but also about the business side of writing.  Shout-out to Hank Phillippi Ryan, whose sessions helped me think about my book in a new way, and helped me nail down that one-sentence log line.  Thanks also to John Cusick, whose presentation on first lines was my favorite of the conference.  The examples came from some of my favorite books, and I loved getting an agent’s feedback on the first line of my novel.

Finally, many thanks to the scores of other writers who let me practice my pitch on them, offered feedback, and shared their pitches with me.  It was so neat hearing about everyone else’s projects!

Okay, this is starting to sound too fan-girly for me, so I’m going to end here.  Great job, MWW committee, faculty, and attendees!  I can’t wait to see you again next year.

Leave a Reply

