Blind Date with a Book

Blind date with a book. I’ve heard of a few libraries that have tried versions of mystery book displays, and I’ve been meaning to try one for a while. Our teen librarian did a display of wrapped books last summer to tie in with the “beneath the surface” theme, and I’ve talked to librarians at conferences who had a great time organizing a “blind date with a book” display. There’s a lot of preparation involved — choosing the books, wrapping them, promoting the display — but I’m really looking forward to giving this a try.

Since it’s so involved, I’ve started writing the “personals” for the books I’ll display. Here are a few of my favorites so far. Can you guess what they are?

Genre: Science Fiction

Forget love; I’m more interested in survival. The zombie apocalypse has come and gone, wiping out huge cities and small towns alike. I am a direct transcription of the survivors’ testimony – their terror, their strength, their incredible will to survive. Not for the faint-of-heart, I’m an edgy read that will place you in the throes of humanity’s fight for survival.

Genre: Fantasy (this one’s also an audiobook, because I’m a huge audiophile)

Once upon a time, there was a fairy tale written for adults, complete with scheming witches, murderous princes, and falling stars. This is that story, read to you just like when you were a kid (and in a delightful British accent!). Expect talk of true love and of good triumphing over evil, but don’t expect your classic Cinderella story. Give me a listen for the adventure of a lifetime!

Genre: History

Take a trip back in time to the 1893 World’s Fair in Chicago, and I’ll spin you a tale of an architect, a serial killer, and a giant wheel that put France’s Eiffel Tower to shame. I’ll show you around Burnham’s famous white city, introduce you to the planners of the fair, and let you see how this splendid gathering provided the perfect backdrop for murder. If you like architecture, history, or true crime, you’ll find a favorite story in my pages.

I’ve had so much fun writing personal ads that I’ll turn the challenge over to you. What does your favorite book’s personal look like?

2 thoughts on “Blind Date with a Book

    1. Liz Osisek Post author

      I haven’t tried it myself yet, but when our teen librarian did her Beneath the Surface display she cut out a little window for the barcodes so the books could be checked out without being unwrapped. I plan to do the same.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

