Review: Rite of Rejection

Rite of RejectionI’ve gotten a lot of great advice about author marketing from Sarah Negovetich’s blog (some of which I’ve used when handling library publicity), so I was thrilled to see she was self-publishing her debut YA novel, Rite of Rejection. I was equally excited to read about why Sarah decided to self-publish, and how she has been preparing for the book’s debut on December 4. Before I dive into my review (thanks, NetGalley, for the advanced copy; I’ve already ordered a copy for my library), I want to plug the blog as a great resource for writers regardless of what publication path you choose.

Now, back to the book.

Blurb (from Goodreads):

“Before you stands the future.”

Straight-laced, sixteen-year-old Rebecca can’t wait for her Acceptance. A fancy ball, eligible bachelors, and her debut as an official member of society. Instead, the Machine rejects Rebecca. Labeled as a future criminal, she’s shipped off to a life sentence in a lawless penal colony.

A life behind barbed-wire fences with the world’s most dangerous people terrifies Rebecca. She reluctantly joins a band of misfit teens in a risky escape plan, complete with an accidental fiancé she’s almost certain she can learn to love.

But freedom comes with a price. To escape a doomed future and prove her innocence, Rebecca must embrace the criminal within.

My thoughts:

This book is coming at a time when the YA market is saturated with dystopia, but I was intrigued enough by Rebecca to keep reading. She starts as someone so naive and weak that I had trouble liking her, but I could tell she was going to grow into someone I would respect. Elizabeth provides a nice contrast to Rebecca’s damsel-in-distress, so readers can still have a strong female character to root for throughout. I loved the setting and descriptions, and would have liked to learn more about how the Territories evolved into this rigid, structured society. Recommended for readers looking for a darker version of Keira Cass’s Selection trilogy.

Leave a Reply

