Road trip playlist

I’ll be driving cross-country this weekend, which means I’m going to need listening material to keep me entertained. Since I’m too busy writing and preparing for my trip to come up with a post about writing, I thought I’d share some of the books I plan to listen to on my drive.

The Whispering Skull. The Whispering Skull by Jonathan Stroud, narrated by Katie Lyons. This is the second in the Lockwood & Co. series, fun books about teenaged ghost hunters. I liked listening to the first book, The Screaming Staircase, so much that I decided to save this one for my road trip.

Egg & Spoon. Egg & Spoon by Gregory Maguire, narrated by Michael Page. I’ve had mixed feelings about other books by Gregory Maguire, but this one comes highly recommended. Plus Russian fairy tales, mistaken identities, and Baba Yaga sound like fun.

The Poison Eaters and Other Stories. The Poison Eaters and Other Stories by Holly Black, narrated by Holly Black. I don’t know why it took my so long to read something by Holly Black, but everything I’ve read by her has been brilliant. I haven’t read a collection of short stories in a while, so I think this will be a good pick.

What’s on your to-read/to-listen list?

Leave a Reply

