Youth Media Awards 2016

yma-logo-white-467In my head, I was going to post a poignant reflection on the Youth Media Awards​, announced yesterday morning. But hours later, I’m still struggling to come up with something. Do I celebrate one of my favorite books winning the Morris Award? Brag that back in June, when I first read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, I said it should get the Morris? Do I lament that despite all the attention it received before yesterday, I kept pushing Laura Ruby’s Bone Gap down on my to-read list? (That and Out of Darkness are up next now, because the Printz is the award I would most want to win as a writer, and I like to study the masters.) Do I share the story about the one time I met Margaret E. Edwards Award winner David Levithan and could not form a coherent sentence? (Normally I’m more composed. I blame high blood sugar — it was Pi Day. And of course as soon as I walked away I thought of all the questions I wanted to ask him about Two Boys Kissing.)

I don’t have any earth-shattering thoughts or conclusions this year. All I have is a lineup of new reads and listens, a host of authors, illustrators, and voice artists to congratulate, and a slight buzz from watching the webcast of a room full of youth librarians celebrating great stories.

If you want to learn more about the YMAs, or see a list of this year’s winners, check out the press release.

Leave a Reply

