Light, delightful reads

With my first round of book talks coming up, and a major revision underway, my stress level is a little high. When that happens, I like to pick up what I think of as “lighter” books, ones that don’t get too deep or too dark. Don’t get me wrong; I adore dark books, books that make me think, books that haunt me. And the books I’m going to share do handle some deeper topics, but the overall tone and voice are light. All of these books made me laugh out loud multiple times, and had me fall in love with the main characters.

The Great Greene Heist.The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson

I read this delightful MG novel in a day, and it’s one I plan to book talk at the middle schools. Jackson Greene is a reformed middle school con artist who gets drawn back into the business when he learns the principal has rigged student council elections so Jackson’s former best friend will lose.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

If you’ve been following this blog, you know this is one of my favorite books of 2015. I read it at another point when I was really stressed and had just come off a string of really dark books, and Simon’s hilarious voice and adorable romance with Blue were exactly what I needed.

The False Prince.The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Sage is one of my favorite narrators. When I started reading this book, I planned to read for a half hour or so, but Sage’s voice hooked me so well that by the end of the second paragraph I knew I was going to finish the book that day. He’s the perfect mix of snark and wit. The only other narrator I’ve encountered that I like this much is Baz from Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On. (Seriously, I will listen to either of these characters tell a story about making oatmeal, because it would be that hilarious.)

What are some lighter books you’ve enjoyed recently? Any older favorites you’d recommend?

Leave a Reply

