Awesome Audiobooks: Illuminae

Happy Election Day! If you’re a U.S. citizen over 18 and haven’t done so already, please go vote! I won’t get into politics here, but in an election as crazy as this one, I think every vote is especially important.

Illuminae.If, like me, you could use a distraction from all the election news, I recommend getting lost in a book. I just finished listening to Gemina, the second book in the Illuminae series by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, and wow, are these books great. The writing is fantastic — each character has a distinct voice, and the authors managed to make me laugh out loud at some of the tensest moments. Also, if you want an excellent study of dialog and voice, I take a look at Hanna’s and Nik’s conversations with Kady about two-thirds of the way through Gemina.

Gemina.If you like science fiction, thrillers, or are into really gripping characters, I cannot recommend these books enough. Because of the format (the Illuminae Files are a series of documents, transcriptions of chats and videos, and so on), I can’t say exactly how the audio adaptations compare to the text. But these full-cast adaptations are phenomenal, and a welcome escape from the real world.

Happy reading, happy writing, and happy (hopefully) end of election season!

Leave a Reply

