Great escapist books

I read for a lot of reasons. To put myself in others’ shoes, to travel to different places (real and fictional), to learn about the world. I’m always on the lookout for a good story well told. But sometimes, I read to escape the stress and pressure of whatever else is going on in my life. Lately, these books have provided wonderful escapes.

Empire of Storms.Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

This is the fifth book in the Throne of Glass series, so if you haven’t read the others, I highly recommend starting at the beginning. Some series you can pick up in the middle and be fine, but this one builds on everything that comes before it. This is a great fantasy series with lots of plot twists and characters you want to root for — even when rooting for one means rooting against another character you love.

Crooked Kingdom.Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

This is the second book in the Six of Crows duology, and I cannot recommend this series enough if you like richly-developed fantasy worlds, heists, and characters you can’t forget. I love how much thought is put into the social, political, and economic climates of this world — everything from how different kingdoms view magic differently to how different cultures have shaped their languages. Rarely do I come across a series with an ensemble cast where I don’t have a favorite character, but I love all six members of Kaz Brekker’s gang equally.

The Sun is Also a Star.The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Like Yoon’s first book, Everything, Everything, I read this book in twenty-four hours. Her writing is full of humor and hope, and even though romance isn’t usually my go-to genre, this book was exactly what I needed when I read it.

Do you ever read to escape? What books would you recommend?

Leave a Reply

