Refilling the creative well

Sunset.At some point, every writer will feel their writing stall. I’m normally a “write every day” writer, because that routine helps me stay in the world of whatever I’m writing at the time. When I feel my creative well running dry, I simply switch projects. I’ll take a few days off and write short fiction or poems instead — things I have no intention of sharing or trying to publish, that let me keep my routine of writing every day while still taking a break from the project that left me feeling drained.

This time around, I knew I would have a busy few days visiting family, so I decided to take a true break. I’ve written two or three sentences that were more journal entries than anything else, and that’s it. I look forward to going home refreshed and ready to tackle both my work in progress and the start of Summer Reading.

How do you refill your creative well?

Leave a Reply

